An interview with… LUKAY

Pop Loving Tarts were super excited when we got the chance to catch up with Canadian Popstar Lukay! We think his latest track ‘Dance with You’ is going to be a massive hit over here in the UK! 
 
Hey Lukay, thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to chat with us, 

When did you start performing?

I had my first performance as a solo artist at the age of 15.

What inspires your music?

I get inspired from anything and everything around me. It could be from my own experience or it can be someone Else’s experience. At the same time , when I write my songs, I like to choose a topic that I feel the world needs to hear, or that many people would relate to.

How did you get discovered?

I got discovered by writing songs for other established artist in the industry, parallel to me being an artist. I received a couple of plaques and nominations at Award ceremonies such as the Juno (Canadian Grammy). And from there I got signed by Chozen Stars Records under the distribution of EMI Music Canada which is now Universal Music Canada.

Your dancing is amazing in the video? Are you professionally trained?

I never took any professional training until a couple years ago and it was only for a specific style of dance which is called “House dance”. I kind of picked up dancing by watching artist like Michael Jackson, music videos, movies, or at dance parties. What also helped is that, growing up, I was part of a few dance crews.

Are you planning on coming over to the UK?

Yes I’m definitely planning on coming to the UK, but I don’t know exactly when, perhaps in the near future.

Who influences you musically?

I’m influenced by many of the old school artist such as Marvin Gaye, Lionel Richie, Boyz II Men, Michael Jackson, those are the people I grew up listening to.

Tell us about your plans for the rest of the year into 2014?

I’m planning on doing a few features/ collaborations, few more shows, a lot of writing and traveling.

 

Check out the video for Lukay’s ‘Dance with You’ here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vrmXk3HV5Ro

  Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

